Dodger Team History Walter O'Malley The Official Website

Walter Alston
Tommy Lasorda
Roy Campanella
Don Drysdale
Sandy Koufax
Pee Wee Reese
Jackie Robinson
Duke Snider
Don Sutton
Red Barber
Vin Scully
Buck Canel
Jaime Jarrin
Hall of Famers

Under the leadership of Walter O’Malley, the Dodger organization flourished and excelled both on and off the field. No standard in baseball is higher than reaching the Hall of Fame, both as an acknowledgment by colleagues that a player has distinguished himself as one of the truly all-time greats who made lasting contributions to the game and for his overall character. O’Malley’s “golden era” of baseball was marked by some of the game’s most recognizable names and biggest contributors. In addition to the seven players and two managers enshrined in Cooperstown, NY, O’Malley also had four broadcasters under his presidency who reached the highest heights in their profession and were inducted into the Hall of Fame as winners of the Ford C. Frick Award — Red Barber, Vin Scully, Buck Canel and Jaime Jarrin.


Years Under O'Malley

Year Inducted
24   Walter Alston   1954-76   1983
2     Tommy Lasorda   1977-79   1997
39   Roy Campanella, C   1951-57   1969
53   Don Drysdale, RHP   1956-69   1984
32   Sandy Koufax, LHP   1955-66   1972
1     Pee Wee Reese, SS   1951-58   1984
42   Jackie Robinson, INF   1951-56   1962
4     Duke Snider, OF   1951-62   1980
20   Don Sutton, RHP   1966-79   1998
Red Barber   1951-53   1978
Buck Canel   1954-57   1985
Jaime Jarrin   1959-79   1998
Vin Scully   1951-79   1982
Additional Hall of Famers who wore the Dodger uniform during O’Malley’s years:
Jim Bunning, RHP   1969   1996
Leo Durocher, Cch.   1961-64   1994
Ted Lyons, Cch.   1954   1955
Juan Marichal, RHP   1975   1983
Frank Robinson, OF   1972   1982
Hoyt Wilhelm, RHP   1971-72   1985

Back to top

HomeWalter O'Malley BiographyDodger HistoryDodger Stadium
MultimediaHistoric DocumentsPhoto Galleries

Terms of UsePrivacy PolicySite MapSite CreditsContact
Copyright © 2003-2017 O'Malley Seidler Partners, LLC. All rights reserved.
Major League Baseball trademarks and copyrights are used with the permission of MLB Advanced Media, L.P.
All rights reserved.